Site Navigation


The Cahaba River Society Board represents diverse interests and expertise, including community and grassroots leaders; professionals in business, development, sustainable building, education and public relations; faith leadership; engineers; attorneys; and scientists expert in biodiversity and water quality.

Board Officers

Michelle Blackwood

Michelle Blackwood
President, Friends of Shades Creek
Marketing Specialist, America’s First Federal Credit Union
Board President


Thomas Spencer

Thomas Spencer
Senior Research Associate, Public Affairs Research Council of Alabama


Jeet Radia

Jeet Radia, P.E., CIH
Senior VP – EHS & HR, McWane, Inc.


Stuart Roberts

Stuart Roberts
Financial Advisor


Rob Angus

Dr. Rob Angus
Professor Emeritus of Biology
Vice President – Conservation


Pam Baugh

Pam Baugh
Community volunteer & retired biology teacher


Neil Davis

Neil Davis
President, Davis Architects


Betsy Dobbins

Dr. Betsy Dobbins
Paul N. Propst Professor of Natural Sciences, Samford University


John English

John English
Community Volunteer
Past President


Bobbie Epting

Rev. Bobbie Epting
Associate Pastor, ret., Independent Presbyterian Church


Henry Hughes

Henry Hughes
Vice President of Education, Birmingham Botanical Gardens
Co-Chair, Stewardship


Matt Leavell

Matt Leavell
Director of Design, University of Alabama Center for Economic Development


Min Sun Lee

Min Sun Lee
Assoc. Professor of Art-Graphic Design & Program Director, University of Montevallo


Arlan Shaw

Arlan Lewis
Attorney, Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP


Nancy Long
Community Volunteer
Co-Chair – Development


Lea Ann Mcknally

Lea Ann Macknally, RLA, ASLA, CLARB
President, Macknally Land Design


Brad McLane headshot

Brad McLane
Chief of Administration, NaphCare





Jay Pigford

Jay Pigford, AIA, LEED AP
Partner, ArchitectureWorks, LLP
Chair – Strategic Planning


Robert Pless

Robert Pless
Senior Vice President, ServisFirst Bank
Co-Chair – Development



Margot Shaw
flower Magazine


Helen Todd

Helen Todd, APR
Helen2o: Fluid Communications
Fry-Down Chair


Tim Waldsmith

Tim Waldsmith
Executive Vice President, International Expeditions


Emeritus Board:

Tim Blair
Sonya Cobb*
David Cunningham
Dr. Eleanor DelBene
Co-Chair, Stewardship
Robert Tate
Frank M. Young, III
Beth Maynor Young

Design and Hosting by DataPerk, Birmingham, AL Web Design.